Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers Fellowship Grant

Two full-day workshop attendees will receive $500.00 to further the recipients’ work in the writing field. The chosen recipients will exhibit gifted writing ability and consistent long-term dedication to the craft.

Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers Fellowship Grant Rules for 2018


  1. Have a completed, paid registration for a 2018 WIFYR conference workshop, either a five-day workshop, or a combination of shorter morning workshops that equal five full days.
  2. Submit the first twenty pages of their completed or work-in-progress manuscript along with a detailed chapter by chapter synopsis OR two completed picture book manuscripts. Submissions will be made online, and must be in Times New Roman or Courier, 12 point type, with standard margins.
  3. Write a statement detailing how the scholarship will help further his/her work as a writer.
  4. Include a short author biography detailing the length of time spent pursuing writing, publication credits, and/or other evidences of dedication to the craft, such as writing conferences attended, writing groups, or proof of submissions.

Applications must be submitted no sooner than Monday, March 20, 2018, 8 a.m. Mountain Standard Time, and no later than Monday, May 1, 2018, midnight, to be considered for the Fellowship Grant. No early entries will be accepted. Late entries will be disqualified. Incomplete submissions will not be considered.

Submission Instructions:

Send all entries to: wifyrwritecontest@gmail.com as email attachments. On the pages to be judged, DO NOT include your name or any identifying information. Include a separate title page with the name of your manuscript or picture books, your name, address, and contact information, and the workshop you will attend at the 2018 WIFYR conference. Please submit either 20 pages or two picture books, not a sampling of each.

In the event of no qualifying entries, the WIFYR committee reserves the right to withhold the WIFYR Fellowship Grant.

The recipients will be announced before the keynote speech on Friday of the WIFYR Conference.

Past Winners:

2016: Sean McFadden
2015: Ernest Robertson
2014: Alicia VanNoy Call
2013: Jane Hughes
2012: Taryn Albright